Speed Traps in Malaysia

July 15, 2017
Posted by: Team Autodoc

The Kejara Demerit Points System is a system where motorists who have been found guilty of traffic offenses are given demerit points, as provided for under the Motor Vehicles (Demerit Points) Rules 1997. It was implemented on 15 April 2017.

The AWAS (Automated Awareness Safety System), integrates both AES (Automated Enforcement System) and Kejara Demerit Points system, in a bid to reduce the number of traffic offenses in Malaysia.

For speeding, the demerits range from two to four points for private vehicles, depending on how much the speed limit was exceeded by. For commercial vehicles, it ranges from four to six points. The first 20 points accumulated would earn the offender a warning; the next 20 points, a 6-8 month suspension of their driving license; the third, an eight- to 10-month suspension; the fourth, a 10-12 month suspension; and the fifth, for a total of 100 points, would result in their license being revoked. It gets even harsher if you are on a probationary license; racking up just 20 points will result in the immediate revocation of your license!

As much as you cannot resist the speed temptation or tolerate the slowpokes on the fast lane, always be mindful that you are being watched!

We have thus compiled a list of AES Speed Trap Cameras located all around Malaysia.


1)             KM 376, PLUS North-South Highway, Slim River

2)             KM 85.5, Jalan Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur

3)             KM 205.6, North Taiping

4)             KM 301.9, PLUS Kajang Highway

5)             Jalan Lebuh Sentosa, Putrajaya

6)             KM 6.6, Kajang/Puchong Highway

7)             KM 26, Jalan Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur

8)             Jalan Pasir Putih, Ipoh

9)             Old Klang Road, Kuala Lumpur

10)          Jalan Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur

11)          KM 7, Jalan Maharajalela, Teluk Intan

12)          KM91, Jalan Ipoh – Butterworth, Krian, Perak

13)          KM D7.7, Sungai Besi, Kuala Lumpur

14)          Jalan Persiaran Timur, Putrajaya

15)          KM 151.4, Lebuhraya PLUS – Pagoh

16)          KM 299.9, Lebuhraya PLUS – Kampar

17)          KM 17, Gua Musang – Kuala Krai

18)          KM 96.3, Lebuhraya PLUS – Kuala Muda

19)          KM 256.1 Lebuhraya Pantai Timur 2

20)          KM 288.6 Lebuhraya Pantai Timur 2

21)          KM 146.8 Lebuhraya PLUS – Pagoh

22)          KM 151.4 Lebuhraya PLUS – Pagoh

Better safe than sorry!